Dakota Combo selected for 2010-2011

Dakota Combo 2010-2011

Following open auditions on September 11th, the 5th edition of the Dakota Combo was announced by MacPhail Center for Music jazz coordinator Adam Linz.  The Combo for 2010-2011 will focus on the works of Charles Mingus, and includes: 

  • Danny Hupp (Minneapolis Southwest HS), saxophones
  • Brad Allen (Minnetonka HS), saxophones
  • John Cushing (Minnetonka HS), trombone
  • DeCarlo Jackson (St Paul Conservatory), trumpet
  • Quentin Tschofen (Lighthouse Program, Spring Lake Park), piano
  • Jordan Jenkins (Apple Valley HS), bass
  • Caitlin Kelliher (Minneapolis Southwest HS), bass
  • Emerson Hunton (Minneapolis South HS), drums

The Combo’s first performance will be on October 27th, 5-8 pm at the MacPhail Center for Music, honoring the publication of the music of local pianist/composer Carei Thomas. The Combo will play Thomas’ works during this celebration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *